Another Day of Juggling Projects – Ahh.. Life In a Small Business

Hi There – Another crazy day here in the shop. Trying to plan out how I’m going to work out a meeting schedule for today so I figured this was a good thing to write about in the shop blog.

The first item up is to plan out a meeting with a repeat client. He has a few partial guitars he wants to complete and try to sell in his shop. They are old Jackson DINKY’s that he would like to transform into a couple of old relic road dogs. But, he doesn’t want to put much into them. Just so happens, I have a very good supply of old parts lying around so I should be able to get him something going pretty easily and cost effective. Nicely worn Tremolo, some old effective tuners and some fresh pups. He is a great client and has been a good customer of mine for a few years now. I’ll do my best as usual to give him a great price

Next up is a meeting with my long time client / repeat customer I’ll refer to as JT- I have his Curbow Completion project he will get to play for the first time today. This meeting is at his studio fairly close to my shop so this should not be too much of a problem getting to. JT and I will also be developing the next project to be started, the Purpleheart Curbow Project. We will be reviewing JT’s vision then plan the project. These projects usually require a bit of engineering so the cost tends to fluctuate a bit. Having a client that trusts you makes these projects go so much better. These projects aren’t the recommended type for new customers unless you are extremely established in your area. That trust is something that has to be earned

Next is a new client that was referred to me by another shop I do work / custom mod’s with here in Miami. He has several parts he purchased from around the world that are suppose to be a tribute version of a early model JEM. Problem is the neck pocket is not correct for the AAJN neck (body was made in Brazil). Thus requiring a new neck joint route or an adjustment to the existing pocket. A review of the project scope as well as a quote for the project will be required.

The last two on this list are easily completed together. I’ll contact my clients and have them meet me at the studio. The 2 builds are from a shop not very close to me. So what I think I’ll do is go see my engraver to drop off a future project, stop by another supply house here then meet with my new client.

This is a typical day here at CGT along with the other normal day to day activities. There will always be a need to manage your time. The better you get at that, the better your chances for success in the long run-