Private Stock Project #122 Jazz Master Elite

Several weeks ago, I started on a new bridge for a Jazzmaster style guitar that was posted here on my shop blog. The tremolo was dis-assembled and modified. The top portion has now been shipped off to my custom chrome shop for some special work since this guitar is to be in my Elite / Artist Series. I usually put a bit of extra extravagant work into them such as engraving or exotic woods or inlay work.

Several years ago, I discovered a few tricks that could be used to stabilize the tuning on our beloved Jazzmasters. The use of a Mastery Bridge is the biggest part of that upgrade. I really love the thought that went into these bridges and they solve the issues with string angle and the interference with the intonation adjustments brilliantly. They have really taken the compensated saddle concept to a new level of effectiveness.

The #122 – A Private Stock version of my JM Series.

  • 1-piece FSC Certified Alder Body
  • Custom Sea Foam Green Nitro Lacquer Finish
  • Custom AAA+ Grade Curly Maple Neck with the CGT “V” Contour
  • Rosewood Fingerboard with Hand Inlay design to be determined
  • The CGT Modified Tremolo with a Mastery Compensated Jazzmaster Bridge
  • Porter Pickups Custom hand wound P-90’s to my specs – TBD
  • Antique White Pearloid Pickguard with a modified lower bout (control section) containing custom engraving and chrome
  • Standard Switching and blending using CTS and Switchcraft components

As this project progresses, I’ll post updates. If you have any questions about this project or any other CGT project, please visit me here-

//

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brian D. Johnston
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 15:38:30

    Cool… nothing like taking something standard and ‘somewhat boring’ and taking it to the next level!

    Reply

    • CGT - 0-Impact Guitars
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 15:45:14

      Just a small step. The Jazzmaster to me is iconic and should not be altered too much as to take away from the original intent for this style of guitar. That said, it is always fun to flex the rules a bit- Thanks for reading-

      Reply

Leave a comment