Sometimes, Ya Just Gota’ Improvise!

So, I’m working with a client that has me commissioning a JEM style guitar for him. He has a thread on a lot of the guitar online forum’s so he likes to post updates to his build every once in a while.

So the latest item I did was produce a truss rod cover to be engraved and chrome plated to match the other hardware on the project.

I was not able to locate a blank metal plate matching my specs so the next thing to do is fabricate one. I purchased a piece of 16 gauge steel at my local hardware store and marked out the exact style cover I wanted for this project. Since my peg head slopes differently than the standard JEM, I opted for an alternative style cover.

After the rough cut on the band saw, the edges need to be squared up and rounded / polished to some degree. This is done by hand as is most detail operations in my shop.

Once squared up, I’ll polish the plate so my engraver can do his work. The next step will be off to Vegas for the expert chrome application and polish. This plate is one of 2 plates I’m making for two separate guitars in progress right now. Looking for a custom or hard to find part? Look no more, I’ll make it. Drop me a line-

Leave a comment